After Medicine, Another American Trio Of Scientists Win Nobel Prize For Physics!

(Left to right) Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Throne (Molly Riley/AFP/Getty Images)

American physicists Rainer Weiss, Barry C Barish and Kip S Thorne have won the 2017 Nobel Prize for Physics on Tuesday, October 3. The three scientists were awarded the prize for their discovery of gravitational waves, ripples in the fabric of spacetime. The phenomena were first anticipated by Albert Einstein almost a century ago.

While Rainer Weiss has been awarded one half of the 9m Swedish kronor (£825,000) prize, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne will share the other half.

Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced the prize in Stockholm today. The three scientists played vital roles in the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory(Ligo) experiment, which made the first historic observation of gravitational waves in September 2015.

This comes a day after three Americans — Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young — won the 2017 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine on Monday, October 2, for their discoveries related to mechanisms that control an organism’s circadian responses to light and dark.

  • The Nobel Prize for Chemistry will be announced on Wednesday, October 4.
  • The Nobel Prize for Literature will be announced on Thursday, October 5.
  • The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday, October 6.
  • The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Science will be announced on Monday, October 9.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here